TransOst 1 Ore Mountains


7 Days - 4 Mountains - 2 Countries

TransOst 1 Ore Mountains

Trip Highlights

  • Blocked Trails in the Fichtel Mountains
  • Border paths in the Ore Mountains
  • Klingenthal: Ski Jumping World Cup and Vogtland Arena
  • TrailCenter Rabenberg – Germany's first MTB single trail park
  • Sections of the Stoneman-Miriquidi
  • Keilberg 1,244 m (highest mountain in the Ore Mountains)
  • Railway romance in sleepy valleys
  • Seiffen with Ore Mountains folk art and the oldest MTB marathon
  • Ski resort Altenberg
  • Sandstone rocks of Tisa
  • Hoher Schneeberg 723 m (highest mountain in the Elbe Sandstone Mountain)
  • Rock formations of Saxon Switzerland

Trip Details

  • Departs: Bayreuth
  • Arrives: Bad Schandau
  • Region: Fichtel, Elster and Ore Mountains, Saxon Switzerland
  • Duration: 7 days
  • Distance: 450 km (up to 75 km/day)
  • Ascent: 10.500 m (up to 2,000 m/day)
  • Grade: moderate
  • Part of TransOst Challenge
  • Multi-day one-way trip with changing accommodations
  • You will receive further tour details usally 14 days before start

Prices & Services

Supported and guided:

  • 6 accommodations in twin rooms with breakfast
  • Tour book and GPS data

Additionally at guided:

  • certified guide
  • 4 - 10 participants
  • Accompanying vehicle with luggage transport
  • starter bag

Optional bookable:

  • Accommodation with wellness and single rooms
  • Return to Bayreuth
  • Rent-bike
  • Individual appointments for groups

Details on tour packages and services

  • Individual trip from 69,- €
  • Supported trip from 420,- €
  • Guided trip from 880,- €
Dates & Booking

Dates

Trip map

7 Days

450 km

(up to 75 km/day)

10.500 m

(up to 2,000 m/day)

moderate

(Grade)

More Trip Details

MTB-Tour from Bavaria over the crest of the Ore mountains to the Elbe river

The TransOst 1 is the prelude to our series of mountain bike adventures to our eastern neighbours. After the start in the Franconian Bayreuth we head for the first ascents and trails in the Fichtelgebirge. Already on the second day we meet our neighbours in the Czech Republic, whom we will meet more often during the tour.

At the latest now everyone should have forgotten hectic rush and everyday stress and should have enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of the Ore Mountains. Only the terrain contradicts this: large differences in altitude are characteristic for the Czech Ore Mountains (Czech: Krušné hory).

Across the Elster Mountains and through Vogtland we reach the mountain bike hotspot in the Miriquidi: The TrailCenter Rabenberg with its challenging, built paths invites you to enjoy the ride. Via the Stoneman Miriquidi, which was opened in 2014 and is based on the famous original Stoneman Dolomiti route over the highest peaks of the Ore Mountains, we reach the Keilberg and Fichtelberg, the highest peaks of the Erzgebirge on the Czech and German sides, respectively. A detour into the Bohemian Basin enriches the tour by trail downhill runs and immediately demands a return to the sparsely populated crest of the Ore Mountains with its raft grave trails.

Of course, a visit to Germany's first mountain bike marathon, the Erzgebirgs-Bike-Marathon, is on the agenda. If you haven't experienced it by then, you will leave for Seiffen on the first weekend of August and experience the toy village in a state of emergency.

In Altenberg we say goodbye to the Ore Mountains, but not without playing on the ditch paths and climbs on which our young mountain bikers at the local federal base are also preparing for their careers.

At the end of our week trip we dive into a rock labyrinth with bizarre sandstone formations and use the altitude for the last, sustainable descent into the mild Elbe valley. In Bad Schandau, in the middle of Saxon Switzerland, TransOst 1 ends and each of the biker has a total of just under 450 km and 10,500 metres of altitude difference in their bones. The TransOst 2 is already waiting...

Be inspired by Uwe Buchholz. In the World of MTB he describes his TransOst adventure "Immer Richtung Osten" (always in east direction) together with pictures of Martin Dinse.

Stage Overview

1 ✶ Bayreuth - Bad Alexandersbad ✶ ca. 70 km ✶ 2,000 m

2 ✶ Bad Alexandersbad - Luby (CZ) ✶ ca. 75 km ✶ 1,900 m

3 ✶ Luby (CZ) - Rabenberg / Breitenbrunn ✶ ca. 75 km ✶ 2,200 m

4 ✶ Rabenberg / Breitenbrunn - Jöhstadt ✶ ca. 63 km ✶ 1,800 m

5 ✶ Jöhstadt - Seiffen ✶ ca. 62 km ✶ 1,200 m

6 ✶ Seiffen - Horní Krupka (CZ) ✶ ca. 60 km ✶ 1,500 m

7 ✶ Horní Krupka (CZ) - Bad Schandau ✶ ca. 58 km ✶ 900 m

Remarks

The subsoil is approximately 15% asphalt, 55% forest and field roads and 30% trails. Several climbs and descents have to be mastered daily. The trip is technically and conditionally demanding.

Note for Guided tours: The tour is guided by a certified guide and accompanied by a second guide in the vehicle. The escort vehicle arrives one or two times a day and at the place of accommodation. Baggage, spare parts, tools and drinking water are transported. If necessary, a participant can travel in the accompanying vehicle. Overnight stays are in simple, country-specific guesthouses in double, twin or shared rooms including breakfast. In one of the lodgings (mountain hut) the sanitary facilities are shared in the corridor. Sometimes we have lunch in good middle-class restaurants or huts. Dinner can be in the accommodation or a few minutes walk away. Lunch and dinner are not included in the price.

The return transport from Bad Schandau to Bayreuth by minibus can be booked optionally. A return trip by train is also possible.

Note for closed groups: The services are compiled on request. Both the backpack version without an escort vehicle is possible, as well as the wellness package with overnight stay in upscale guesthouses or hotels with sauna and single rooms.

Note for supported tours: Accommodation is the same as for guided tours. On the basis of the GPS data, you will lead the tour yourself. Optionally you can book an escort car with driver for the trip as well as the return transport from Bad Schandau to Bayreuth.

Dates & Booking

Trip Date Price
Special request Contact form
individual 69,- € Choose
supported 420,- € Choose
guided 880,- € Choose

Contact details

Mode of payment

Message

Complete booking

You have chosen the following:

Trip:

Package:

Date:

The price is

 
 
 
 

By submitting the registration form, your travel booking becomes binding and you will receive an immediate confirmation of receipt by email from the system. The booking confirmation and invoice as well as further information about the tour will be sent to you by email within 24 h on working days.

TransOst 1


7 Tage - 4 Gebirge - 2 Länder

TransOst 1

Tourhighlights

  • Verblockte Trails im Fichtelgebirge
  • Grenzpfade im Erzgebirge
  • Klingenthal: Skisprung Weltcup und Vogtland Arena
  • TrailCenter Rabenberg - Deutschlands erster MTB-Singletrail-Park
  • Abschnitte des Stoneman-Miriquidi
  • Keilberg 1.244 Meter (Höchster Berg im Erzgebirge)
  • Eisenbahnromantik in verschlafenen Tälern
  • Seiffen mit erzgebirgischer Volkskunst und dem ältesten MTB-Marathon
  • Wintersportort Altenberg
  • Felsenstadt Tisa
  • Hoher Schneeberg 723 Meter (Höchster Berg im Elbsandsteingebirge)
  • Felsenformationen der Sächsischen Schweiz

Tourdetails

  • Startort: Bayreuth
  • Zielort: Bad Schandau
  • Region: Fichtel-, Elster-, Erzgebirge, Sächsische Schweiz
  • Dauer: 7 Tage
  • Distanz: 450 km (bis 75 km/Tag)
  • Höhenmeter: 10.500 Hm (bis 2.000 Hm/Tag)
  • Schwierigkeitsgrad: normal
  • Etappe der TransOst Challenge
  • Mehrtägige A-B-Tour mit wechselnden Unterkünften
  • Weitere Tourdetails erhalten Sie i.d.R. 14 Tage vor Tourbeginn

Preise & Leistungen

Bei supported und guided:

  • 6 Übernachtungen im DZ mit Frühstück
  • Tourbuch und GPS-Daten

Zusätzlich bei guided:

  • zertifizierter Guide
  • Gruppenstärke 4 - 10 Teilnehmer
  • Begleitfahrzeug mit Gepäcktransport
  • Starterbeutel

Optional buchbar:

  • Unterkünfte mit Wellness und Einzelzimmer
  • Rücktransport nach Bayreuth
  • Leih-Mountainbike
  • Individuelle Termine für Gruppen

Details zu Tourenpaketen und Leistungen

  • Tour individual ab 69,- €
  • Tour supported ab 420,- €
  • Tour guided ab 880,- €
Termine & Buchen

Termine

Tourkarte

7 Tage

450 km

(bis 75 km/Tag)

10.500 Hm

(bis 2.000 Hm/Tag)

normal

(Anspruch)

Gebirge

Mehr Tourinfos

MTB-Tour vom Fränkischen über den Kamm bis an die Elbe

Die TransOst 1 bildet den Auftakt unserer Serie an Mountainbike-Abenteuern zu unseren östlichen Nachbarn. Nach dem Start im fränkischen Bayreuth steuern wir zielstrebig die ersten Anstiege und Trails im Fichtelgebirge an. Bereits am zweiten Tag treffen wir auf unseren Nachbarn Tschechien, den wir während der Tour noch öfters begegnen werden.

Spätestens jetzt sollte jeder Hektik und Alltagsstress vergessen haben und in den Genuss der Ruhe und Beschaulichkeit der Erzgebirgsregion gekommen sein. Dem widerspricht nur das Gelände: große Höhenunterschiede sind gerade für das tschechische Erzgebirge (tschechisch: Krušné hory) charakteristisch.

Über das Elstergebirge und durchs Vogtland erreichen wir den Mountainbike-Hotspot im Miriquidi: Das TrailCenter Rabenberg lädt mit seinen anspruchsvollen, gebauten Pfaden zum Fahrvergnügen ein. Über den erst 2014 eröffneten Stoneman Miriquidi, ein dem bekannten Original Stoneman Dolomiti nachempfundener Rundweg über die höchsten Gipfel des Erzgebirges, erreichen wir mit Keilberg und Fichtelberg die höchsten Gipfel des Erzgebirges auf tschechischer beziehungsweise deutscher Seite. Abstecher in das Böhmische Becken bereichern die Tour durch Trailabfahrten und fordern sogleich bei den Anstiegen zurück auf den dünn besiedelten Erzgebirgskamm mit seinen Floßgrabentrails.

Natürlich steht ein Besuch beim ersten Mountainbike-Marathon Deutschlands, dem Erzgebirgs-Bike-Marathon auf dem Programm. Wer ihn bis dahin noch nicht erlebt hat, wird spätestens am ersten Augustwochenende nach Seiffen aufbrechen und das Spielzeug dort im Ausnahmezustand erleben.

In Altenberg verabschieden wir uns vom Erzgebirge, jedoch nicht ohne auf den Grabenwegen und Steigen zu spielen, auf denen sich auch unser Mountainbike-Nachwuchs am ansässigen Bundesstützpunkt auf seine Karriere vorbereitet.

Zum Abschluss unserer Wochentour tauchen wir ein in ein Felslabyrinth mit bizarren Sandsteinformationen und nutzen die Höhenlage für die letzte, nachhaltige Abfahrt in das milde Elbtal. In Bad Schandau, inmitten der Sächsischen Schweiz, endet die TransOst 1 und jeder der Radler hat insgesamt knapp 450 km und 10.500 Höhenmeter in den Knochen. Die TransOst 2 wartet schon...

Lasst euch von Uwe Buchholz inspirieren. In der World of MTB beschreibt er sein TransOst-Abenteur „Immer Richtung Osten“ zusammen mit Bildern von Martin Dinse.

Hinweise

Der Untergrund beträgt cirka 15% Asphalt, 55% Wald- und Feldwege sowie 30% Trails. Täglich sind mehrere Anstiege und Abfahrten zu bewältigen. Die Tour ist fahrtechnisch und konditionell anspruchsvoll.

Hinweise für geführte Touren: Die Tour wird von einem zertifizierten Guide geführt und von einem zweiten Guide im Fahrzeug begleitet. Das Begleitfahrzeug treffen wir ein bis zwei mal täglich und am Übernachtungsort. Es werden Gepäck, Ersatzteile, Werkzeug und Trinkwasser transportiert. Bei Bedarf kann ein Teilnehmer im Begleitfahrzeug mitreisen. Übernachtet wird in einfachen, landestypischen Pensionen im Doppel-, Zweibett- oder Mehrbettzimmer inklusive Frühstück. In einer der Unterkünfte (Berghütte) sind die Sanitäranlagen gemeinschaftlich auf dem Gang. Teils essen wir mittags in gut bürgerlichen Gaststätten oder Hütten, abends nach Tageskarte in der Unterkunft oder wenige Gehminuten davon entfernt. Mittag- und Abendessen sind nicht im Reisepreis enthalten.

Der Rücktransport von Bad Schandau nach Bayreuth im Kleinbus kann optional gebucht werden. Eine Rückfahrt mit dem Zug ist ebenfalls möglich.

Hinweise für geschlossenen Gruppen: Die Leistungen werden auf Wunsch zusammengestellt. Sowohl die Rucksack-Variante ohne Begleitfahrzeug ist möglich, genauso wie das Wellnesspaket mit Übernachtung in gehobenen Pensionen oder Hotels mit Sauna und Einzelzimmern.

Hinweis für supported Touren: Die Unterkünfte entsprechen denen der geführten Tour. Anhand der GPS-Daten führt ihr die Tour selbst.

Optional kann ein Begleitfahrzeug mit Fahrer wie auch der Rücktransport von Bad Sachandau nach Bayreuth zu der Tour gebucht werden.

Termine & Buchen

Tour Termin Preis
Spezielle Anfrage Kontaktformular
individual 69,- € Auswählen
supported 420,- € Auswählen
geguided 880,- € Auswählen

Kontaktdaten

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Zahlungsweise

Mitteilung

Buchung abschließen

Du hast folgendes ausgewählt:

Tour:

Leistung:

Termin:

Der Preis beträgt

Mit dem Absenden des Anmeldeformulars wird Ihre Reisebuchung verbindlich und Sie erhalten vom System sofort eine Eingangsbestätigung per E-Mail. Die Buchungsbestätigung und Rechnung sowie weitere Infos zur Tour erhalten Sie an Werktagen innerhalb von 24 h per E-Mail zugeschickt.