Discover baroque Dresden and its picturesque surroundings on a 3-day mountain bike trip. Start directly from our front door on our trails in the Elbe slopes, the side valleys and the Dresden Heath. Your sporty city trip with art and culture.

swap_calls
Kilometres
180
trending_up
Ascent
3900
schedule
days
3

Highlights

  • Mile-long trails of the Elbe slopes
  • Saxonian Vineyards
  • Trail paradise Dresden Heath
  • Views as far as the Ore Mountains
  • Varied art and culture
  • Regional wine and brewing

Details

  • Departs: Dresden (DE)
  • Region: Dresden and surrounding area, Meissen, Radebeul, Pillnitz
  • Duration: 3 days (Arrival the evening before)
  • Best travel time: April - October
  • Distance: 180 km
  • Ascent: 3900 m
  • Fitness Level: Level 2
  • Skill Level: Level 2
  • Recommended Bike: Cross/Trekkingbike, Hardtail, Full suspension trail bike, also as an e-bike
  • Permanent accommodation
  • You will usally receive further details 14 days before start
  • Daily round trips

Biking in the MTB metropolis

Besides being the cultural and state capital of Saxony, Dresden is the secret metropolis for mountain bikers. The city on the river Elbe welcomes you as the perfect starting point for mountain bike and road bike tours – usually right from your front door. On trips into the tributary valleys of the Elbe, into Saxon Switzerland or as far as the City Meissen, you will experience the beauty of this region. In the north lies the Dresden Heath. As the green lung of the city, it literally invites you for a ride after work. Many short trails and climbs make the ride a varied experience.

The Elbe slopes are different: long trails over rugged rock and their climbs challenge you in a completely different way. Again and again rewarded by wonderful views over the Elbe valley. And not to forget: You'll be walking on the former UNESCO World Heritage Site. No matter whether you are heading east to Pillnitz with its castle or west through the left Elbe valleys to Meissen, you will stay close to the city. In the south the foothills of the Ore Mountains await you. Here too, many valleys start with long trails in the middle of the city. Whether over the Mountains in the South in the direction of the Tharandt Forest or beyond the valley of the brook Lockwitz – a little bit of fitness is needed for sports.

After the tour, you can end the day in one of the nice cafés with the typical egg custard cake and “äm Schälchen Heeßen” (Saxon for a cup of coffee) or a homely bar with local beers. Afterwards you dive freshly showered into the nightlife of the hotspot Neustadt or into the cultural evening. The Church of Our Lady, the Zwinger, the Green Vault and the Great Garden with park railway are definitely worth seeing, but also the castles in Pillnitz, Meissen and Moritzburg and of course the Bastei Bridge and Fortress Königstein in Saxon Switzerland.

On the evening before the individual arrival with welcome in the accommodation. You get your bike ready for the next days.

In the morning of the first day you meet your guide directly at breakfast and you discuss the trip of the day. On extensive trails you ride through the Elbe slopes towards Meissen and back. On the edge of the Elbe you can experience so many things - let yourself be surprised. The evenings are at your free disposal. Your guide will gladly recommend his insider tips.

On the second day the tour goes in the direction of Pillnitz. The highlight is definitely the castle and the vineyards.

The Dresden Heath is the final destination. Until the early afternoon you go “playing in the big sandbox”. With a common coffee the tour ends and you start your journey home in the afternoon.

We reserve the right to make changes during the tour.

Mile-long trails of the Elbe slopes

Itinerary

1 Trail tour towards Radebeul and Meißen

65 km

1500 m

2 Elbe slopes with Pillnitz vineyard and castle

65 km

1500 m

3 “Sandbox” Dresden Heath

50 km

900 m

Arrival details

directions_carArrival by car: Via the Autobahn 4 to junction 78 Dresden-Altstadt.

trainArrival by train: Straight to Dresden.

airplanemode_activeArrival by plane: To Dresden Airport (DRS). Continue with the S2 to the center.

Saxonian Vineyards

Remarks

Several ascents and descents have to be mastered every day. The tour is demanding in terms of technique and physical condition.

Notes for guided tours: The tour is led by a certified guide. Accommodation is in a medium standard pension or hotel in a double or twin room including breakfast. In the early afternoon we will stop for a bourgeois restaurant along the way. Evening meals are provided individually at the accommodation or one of the numerous restaurants in town. Lunch, dinner and evening entertainment are not included in the tour price. Your vehicle and luggage can remain at the accommodation. For the tour a small daypack for tools, rain jacket and muesli bars.

Notes for closed groups: The services will be arranged on request. With regard to the number of driving days and the tour design, the region allows plenty of leeway. Accommodation in upscale guesthouses or hotels with sauna and single rooms is possible on request.

Art and culture

Guided trips

30.04.–02.05.2021

23.–25.07.2021

01.–03.10.2021

Private groups on request

Available services

You have a special request for this tour? Please contact us!

Special request

Erlebe das barocke Dresden und sein malerisches Umland in einer 3-tägigen Mountainbike-Reise. Starte direkt ab Haustür auf unsere Trails in den Elbhängen, den Nebentälern und der Heide. Dein sportlicher Städteausflug mit Kunst und Kultur.

swap_calls
Kilometer
180
trending_up
Höhenmeter
3900
schedule
Tage
3

Höhepunkte

  • Kilometerlange Trails der Elbhänge
  • Sächsische Weinberge
  • Trailparadies Dresdner Heide
  • Weitsichten bis ins Erzgebirge
  • Vielfältige Kunst und Kultur
  • Meißner Wein und Sächsische Braukunst

Details

  • Startort: Dresden
  • Region: Dresden und Umland, Meißen, Radebeul, Pillnitz
  • Dauer: 3 Tage (Anreise am Vorabend)
  • Beste Reisezeit: April - Oktober
  • Distanz: 180 km
  • Höhenmeter: 3900 m
  • Konditioneller Anspruch: Level 2
  • Fahrtechnische Schwierigkeit: Level 2
  • Empfohlenes Bike: Cross-/Trekkingbike, Hardtail, Trail-Fully, auch als E-Bike
  • Feste Unterkunft
  • Weitere Tourdetails erhalten Sie i.d.R. 14 Tage vor Tourbeginn
  • Tägliche Rundtouren
Biken in der MTB-Metropole

Neben der Kultur- und Landeshauptstadt Sachsens ist Dresden die heimliche Metropole für Mountainbiker. Die Stadt an der Elbe empfängt dich als der perfekte Ausgangsort für Mountainbike- und Rennradtouren – meist direkt ab der Haustür. Auf Touren in die Nebentäler der Elbe, in die Sächsische Schweiz oder bis nach Meißen erlebst du die Schönheit dieser Region. Im Norden liegt die Dresdner Heide. Als grüne Lunge der Stadt lädt sie dich förmlich für eine Runde zum Feierabend ein. Viele kurze Trails und Anstiege lassen die Ausfahrt zum abwechslungsreichen Erlebnis werden.

Anders die Dresdner Elbhänge: Lange Trails über schroffes Gestein und ihre Anstiege fordern dich auf eine ganz andere Art und Weise. Immer wieder belohnt von herrlichen Ausblicken über das Elbtal. Und nicht zu vergessen: Du bewegst dich im ehemaligen Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Egal ob in Richtung Osten nach Pillnitz oder nach Westen durch die linkselbischen Täler nach Meißen gefahren wird, man bleibt in Stadtnähe. Im Süden warten die Ausläufer des Erzgebirges. Auch hier starten viele Täler mit langen Trails mitten in der Stadt. Ob über Windberg Richtung Tharandter Wald oder den Lockwitzgrund hinaus – sportlich wird etwas Kondition benötigt.

Nach der Tour wartet auf dich der Ausklang in einem der netten Cafés bei einem Stückchen Sächsischer Eierschecke und „äm Schälchen Heeßen“ (sächsisch für eine Tasse Kaffee) oder einer gemütlichen Bar mit heimischen Bieren. Anschließend tauchst du frisch geduscht in das Nachtleben der Dresdner Neustadt oder in den kulturellen Abend ein. Sehenswert sind auf jeden Fall die Frauenkirche, der Zwinger, das Grüne Gewölbe und der Große Garten mit Parkeisenbahn aber auch die Schlösser in Pillnitz, Meißen und Moritzburg und natürlich die Basteibrücke und Festung Königstein in der Sächsischen Schweiz.

Am Vorabend erfolgt die individuelle Anreise mit Begrüßung in der Unterkunft. Du machst dein Bike startklar für die kommenden Tagen.

Am Morgen des ersten Tages triffst du deinen Guide direkt beim Frühstück und ihr besprecht die Tour des Tages. Auf ausgedehnten Trails fährst du durch die Elbhänge Richtung Meißen und zurück. Am Rande der Elbe kannst du so einiges erleben – lasse dich überraschen. Die Abende stehen zu deiner freien Verfügung. Dein Guide empfiehlt dir gern seine Geheimtipps.

In Richtung Pillnitz geht die Tour am zweiten Tag. Das Highlight sind auf jede Fall das dortige Schloss und die Weinberge.

Den Abschluss macht die Dresdner Heide. Bis zum frühen Nachmittag gehst du „in den großen Sandkasten spielen“. Bei einem gemeinsamen Kaffee endet die Tour und du trittst am Nachmittag die Heimreise an.

Änderungen im Tourverlauf vorbehalten.

Kilometerlange Trails der Elbhänge

Etappenübersicht

1 Trailtour Richtung Radebeul und Meißen

65 km

1500 m

2 Elbhänge mit Pillnitzer Weinberg und Schloss

65 km

1500 m

3 „Sandkasten“ Dresdner Heide

50 km

900 m

Anreise

directions_carAnreise per Auto: Über die Autobahn 4 bis zur Anschlussstelle 78 Dresden-Altstadt.

trainAnreise per Zug: Direkt nach Dresden.

airplanemode_activeAnreise per Flugzeug: Bis zum Flughafen Dresden (DRS). Weiter mit der S2 ins Zentrum.

Sächsische Weinberge

Tourhinweise

Täglich sind mehrere Anstiege und Abfahrten zu bewältigen. Die Tour ist fahrtechnisch und konditionell anspruchsvoll.

Hinweise für geführte Touren: Die Tour wird von einem zertifizierten Guide geführt. Übernachtet wird in einer Pension oder Hotel mittleren Standards im Doppel- oder Zweibettzimmer inklusive Frühstück. Zum frühen Nachmittag kehren wir in gut bürgerliche Gaststätten am Wegesrand ein. Die Abendverpflegung erfolgt individuell in der Unterkunft oder einer der zahlreichen Restaurants in der Stadt. Mittag- und Abendessen sowie die Abendgestaltung sind nicht im Reisepreis enthalten. Dein Fahrzeug und Gepäck kann an der Unterkunft verbleiben. Für die Tour ein kleiner Tagesrucksack für Werkzeug, Regenjacke und Müsliriegel.

Hinweise für geschlossenen Gruppen: Die Leistungen werden auf Wunsch zusammengestellt. Hinsichtlich der Anzahl an Fahrtagen und der Tourgestaltung lässt die Region viel Spielraum zu. Eine Übernachtung in gehobenen Pensionen oder Hotels mit Sauna und Einzelzimmern ist auf Anfrage möglich.

Kunst und Kultur hautnah

Geführte Touren

02.–04.10.2020

30.04.–02.05.2021

23.–25.07.2021

01.–03.10.2021

Geschlossene Gruppen auf Anfrage

Verfügbare Pakete

Du hast eine spezielle Anfrage zu dieser Tour? Dann kontaktiere uns bitte!

Spezielle Anfrage